How to translate the verb Achar in English

The verb ACHAR in Portuguese has two main translations:

 

TO THINK or TO GUESS

• Acho que este vestido ficou ótimo em você!

I think that this dress looks great on you!

• O que você acha dessa novela? Acho entediante…

What do you think about this soap opera? I think is boring…

• Será que este casaco será suficiente? Acho que sim.

Will this coat be enough? I guess so.

 

TO FIND

• Preciso achar meus óculos antes de sair de casa!

I need to find my glasses before

• Finalmente achei as minhas chaves!

Finally I found my keys!

 

One thought on “How to translate the verb Achar in English

Leave a Reply

